Skip to content ↓
Recent leavers receiving their awards
2016 Winners Julija, Stephen and Natalia


Awards for outstanding progress

Varndean School currently offers two awards for those students who display outstanding progress in their time with us.

Suzanne Denyer Award

Julija and Natalia receive their awards

The Suzanne Denyer Award was created as part of the legacy of ex-student Suzanne Denyer who left Varndean to pursue a successful career in the Police Force. She was keen to recognise female students who matched her determination and commitment to hard work and achieving their full potential.

This year, former Ellis School students, Natalia Miernik and Julija Novikova share the Suzanne Denyer Award and came back to school to receive £500 each from the Head of Ellis School, Ms J Meloni to help fund their future studies. Their families were also in the audience at the Ellis assembly to share in the pride of their achievements.

Previous winners: 2015 Rebecca Hong, 2014 Karishma Khan, 2013 Salma Nasrin.

Varndean Development Award

Stephen receiving his award from the Headteacher Mr Deighan

The Varndean Development Award created in 2015 matches the Suzanne Denyer Award to recognise the male student who has made the most prgress through their hard work and dedication.

The winner in 2016 is Stephen Ford. Stephen was a guest in the Ellis assembly along with Natalia and Julija and received the award thanks to his hard work and growth mindset whilst at Varndean School. Stephen plans to study medicine and will be using his award to purchase a laptop to help whilst completing his current A Levels at BHASVIC and future medical degree.

Previous winners: 2015 Timothy  Taylor.